After repeating as Preds Cup state champions, the Brentwood Bruins headline the first-ever Penalty Box Radio GNASH hockey awards. 

ships n trips

Brentwood won Team of the Year, head coach Chris Orem won Coach of the Year and goalie Ryan Bobrow won Goaltender of the Year. In total, eight awards were named. The full list is below: 

Team of the Year: Brentwood Bruins


Brentwood compiled a 13-3-2 regular season record with 28 points – third best in the league. The Bruins led the GNASH league in scoring with 99 goals and allowed the fourth fewest goals (39). In the playoffs, Brentwood went 5-0-1 and won the Preds Cup state championship, surrendering 9 goals all postseason (second fewest) and scoring 29 goals (second most). 

Coach of the Year: Chris Orem, Brentwood

Orem led Brentwood to back-to-back state championships as the Bruins were the only team to defeat Hendersonville-Station Camp-Beech twice in 2018-19 – both in the Preds Cup playoffs. 

Player of the Year: Liam Hussey, Ravenwood

Hussey’s stat line included a league-leading 33 goals and 46 points. He also added 13 assists and 4 power play goals to go along with 7 shorthanded goals as Hussey powered Ravenwood to a Hine Cup championship. 

Goaltender of the Year: Ryan Bobrow, Brentwood

Bobrow was second in the league in wins (12), third in goals-against average (2.27), fifth in save percent (.886) and tied for second in shutouts (3) among goaltenders who started 10 or more games. In the postseason, he tallied a 5-1 record and led all goalies in goals-against average (2.02), save percent (.933) and shutouts (2). 

Postseason MVP: JT Ernst, JPII

Ernst was the leading scorer in the playoffs, tallying 12 goals, 8 assists, 20 points and 2 power play goals to help JPII reach the Hine Cup final. He scored three more goals and six more points than the next closest player in each category, respectively. 

Offensive Team of the Year: MBA

MBA finished the regular season tied for the second-most goals scored during the regular season (98). The Big Red had six forwards with 10 or more points — Brandon MacDonald-Surman (17 goals, 39 points); Tyler Laub (10 goals, 36 points); Luke Haley (20 goals, 30 points); Brennan Roach (16 goals, 27 points); William Morrison (10 goals, 22 points); Benjamin Lindsey (8 goals, 19 points). 

Defensive Team of the Year: Hendersonville/Station Camp/Beech

The Commandos gave up the fewest goals during the regular season (31) and averaged only 1.72 goals allowed per game with three shutouts. The group was led by goaltender Brandon Shaw and defensemen Eric Hall, Jaxon Rathert, Clayton Stickel and Thomas Hasselblad.

Game of the Year: Father Ryan beats MBA 3-2 on Jan. 24

In the PBR Game of the Year, Father Ryan scored the game-winning goal with 2:40 left in regulation to hand MBA its first loss of the season. Father Ryan jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the first period only to see MBA storm back and tie it 2-2 heading into the final period. With the momentum appearing to be on MBA’s side, Father Ryan goalie Carson Mielnik stopped a barrage of Big Red shots to keep it tied. Ryan Prim scored the go-ahead goal in the waning minutes to end MBA’s perfect season and move the Irish up to the upper-third of the standings.