Blunder Doesn’t Hamper Hogs

Arkansas surmounted an early deficit by scoring two third period power play goals to capture a 2-1 victory of the Alabama Frozen Tide and take home their second consecutive South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference Playoffs Championship.


Arkansas goalie, Kevin Scheer was named SECHC Playoffs MVP for the second straight year, and for good reason. According to the score sheet, the Razorback net minder allowed three goals on 62 shots during the tourney. However, during the second period of the championship game, Scheer skated to the bench on a delayed penalty when teammate Forest Mudgett attempted a pass and the puck trickled into the net to give the Frozen Tide a 1-0 lead.

Mudgett redeemed himself in the third period when he tied the game at one with a power play goal. Arkansas forward, Marty Sundstedt scored the game winning goal just a couple of minutes later on another power play. The Razorbacks held off Alabama to win their fourth SECHC Championship in five years.

Florida Takes Home Third Place


Sunday’s first game saw Florida take on South Carolina for third place in the SECHC Playoffs. After losing to Alabama 6-1 in the second semifinal game on Saturday night, the Gators scored one goal in each of the first two periods to take a 2-0 lead into the third. Florida added two more in the third to secure their 4-0 win against the Gamecocks. Sophomore goalie Fred Bourret stopped forty Gamecock shots in the shutout.

All-Academic Honor’s List and All-SECHC Team Announced

The SECHC announced its 2013-2014 All-Academic Honor’s List last week. Vanderbilt had 18 players on the All-Academic Honor’s List that boasted 111 players in all. Commodore sophomore Bandar Alsaif led Vandy with a 4.0 GPA. Find the entire list here.

Between the semifinal games on Saturday night, the All-SECHC team was announced. Vanderbilt senior defenseman Anthony Bilotta was named to the All-SECHC Second Team.

2014 All SECHC Teams


Gallini Named Coach of the Year

Arkansas head coach, Brian Gallini took home SECHC Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to their second consecutive SECHC Championship. The Razorbacks finished the season with a 25-5-0-0 record and undefeated in SECHC and ACHA DIII play. Arkansas’ only losses came at the hands of ACAH DI and DII teams.




LSULouisiana State University were welcomed back into the SECHC after a brief hiatus from hockey. The Tigers disbanded in 2008 but had a strong showing in Pelham, AL during the playoffs. They will be an affiliate member during the 2014-15 season. You can check them out on Facebook or on Twitter @LSUIceHockey.